Blog Tour: A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray

I was really excited to see the email notification from the lovely Shealea. She is again running this blog tour for this lovely book. She runs amazing blog tours and I always look forward to them. 

46017845

Title: A Shifting of Stars

Author: Kathy Kimbray

Publisher: Self-published

Publication date: 28 May 2019

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis:

A squandering emperor. A handsome stranger. A reluctant heroine. And the ancient magic that will capsize a kingdom.

Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.

Book links: Amazon/Goodreads

Rating: Related image

Related image

My Review:

For a while, this turned to be a 3 star rating, but honestly I realized how quickly I loved it. I was deeply engaged around page 100, and only took me a few sittings to read through this. I didn’t know this book was really going to captivate my attention seeing of how I have a rough time with books lately, and not a lot of them keeps my attention, but this book did.

Characters: 

Meadow: I really loved Meadow. She was one headstrong girl who is fiercely loyal to her father. I loved how she stayed true to herself, and all her choices was just to save people. She was one heroic heroine that I really loved reading about especially her reactions to Prince Bastard (yeah that works.) and his father.

The secondary characters were truly special. At first, I really didn’t know what to think about them, but it was them that made the book truly special. And that was after the first half where there was not so many characters, and I could tell which one was which.

One of my complaints for the characters was that there was way too many characters introduced. It only happened in the beginning, but it just got to the point where I was like, who are these people again? I don’t understand who they are, because there were so many of them. Luckily, as the book continued on, there were less characters.

World-Building: 

The one thing I really noticed was the lack of world-building. There was some, but honestly it wasn’t enough for me. I wanted to know a lot more from the culture, the land and the magic system. Especially the magic system, it was lacking and I didn’t know too much about it.

Writing: 

I adored the author’s writing. It was quite breathtaking and I adored it. It brought the world to be alive, and how it is quite dark and twisty. It was something I could easily imagine. Though, I did find the pacing really dragged in the book. It went from jumping right in the story (which I felt a little confused about, but I didn’t mind it too much) with it’s fast pace, but shortly around the 40% things started to drag quite a bit. I kinda got a little bored reading it, but after that twist (which was predictable. I called it around page 100) things started to pick up again, and went back to the fast pace.

The only reason why I felt the twist coming was probably because I read enough novels that feature the twist. It wasn’t anything the author did, but probably because of the other novels I’ve read that featured it.


About the Author:

Kathy Kimbray headshot

Bio:

Kathy Kimbray is a YA author from Australia.

After graduating from the University of Technology, Sydney, with a degree in Media Arts and Production, she went on to complete postgraduate studies in education and spent many years as a primary school teacher.

Now a full-time novelist, Kathy is lucky to be able to tell stories every day.

Aside from writing, Kathy is an avid reader, dancer, language learner, musical theater enthusiast and fan of terrible reality TV. She lives with her husband in Sydney, and dreams of one day owning that elusive chateau in France.

Author links:

Author website/Goodreads/Instagram/Facebook/Twitter


Giveaway

Prize: One (1) signed paperback copy of A Shifting of Stars and one (1) Amazon gift card worth 10 USD (two winners: one for the paperback, one for the gift card)

Scope: international/worldwide 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule:

Since the lovely Shealea is burned out on tours (who could blame her? 5 tours-2 of which I’m apart of this month? And an internship on top of it, is bound to give someone a burn out.) She couldn’t make a separate graphic for the blog tour participants.

July 07
Blog tour launch at Shut up, Shealea
☕ Becky’s Book Blog
☕ Bemused Bibliophile
☕ Book Reviews from Canada
☕ Polish & Paperbacks
☕ SepiaReads

July 08
☕ A Book Devourer
☕ The Book Piles
☕ The Inked In Book Blog
☕ Tempest of Books

July 09
☕ bewitchingwords
☕ The Infernal Fangirl’s Heaven
☕ Lost in Fiction
☕ Provocatrix
☕ Sage Shelves

July 10
☕ Author interview from Shut up, Shealea
☕ A Bronx Latina Reads
☕ Annotated Paperbacks
☕ Lori’s Bookshelf Reads
☕ Sakhile Whispers
☕ Starlight Reads

July 11
☕ Belle’s Archive
☕ The Bookish Mrs Harding
☕ BookishOwl Reviews
☕ Oro Plata Myta
☕ Your Words My Ink

July 12
☕ Creative post from Shut up, Shealea
☕ & she Reads
☕ A Few Chapters ’til Love
☕ Bookish Kimberly
☕ Celuna Maria
☕ Read at Night

July 13
☕ #CBTTC Twitter chat hosted by Caffeine Book Tours (@CaffeineTours)

7 thoughts on “Blog Tour: A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.