Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Blog Tour: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen

This tour is hosted by Karina @ AfirePages. I do apologize for not getting this post on my tour date, but I had a lot of stuff going on that day so it wouldn’t have worked out-especially with finals (I passed all my classes!) and band concert that day. It wouldn’t have worked out, but I got it in.

Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen

23559994. sy475

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, and praised as “an intense rush of rebellion and romance” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber, this romantic and layered Own Voices debut from Abigail Hing Wen is a dazzling, fun-filled romp. 

“Our cousins have done this program,” Sophie whispers. “Best kept secret. Zero supervision.” 

And just like that, Ever Wong’s summer takes an unexpected turn. Gone is Chien Tan, the strict educational program in Taiwan that Ever was expecting. In its place, she finds Loveboat: a summer-long free-for-all where hookups abound, adults turn a blind eye, snake-blood sake flows abundantly, and the nightlife runs nonstop.

But not every student is quite what they seem:

Ever is working toward becoming a doctor but nurses a secret passion for dance.

Rick Woo is the Yale-bound child prodigy bane of Ever’s existence whose perfection hides a secret.

Boy-crazy, fashion-obsessed Sophie Ha turns out to have more to her than meets the eye.

And under sexy Xavier Yeh’s shell is buried a shameful truth he’ll never admit.

When these students’ lives collide, it’s guaranteed to be a summer Ever will never forget.

Publication Date: January 7th, 2020

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series: Loveboat, Taipei #1

Rating: 773f2-star5

Links: Goodreads/Amazon

butterfly-border-png-2

My Review:

Disclaimer: I received an ARC through Edelweiss for this blog tour; it does not affect my opinion of this book. 

All that’s gone. I don’t care what baggage they dragged over the ocean. They have no right to make me carry it the rest of my life. 

Send help, because this book is really amazing and honestly I loved it so much. I’m not Asian, but I could honestly feel the pain that a lot of Asian Americans go through-teen wise; feeling not Asian enough, and having to be a doctor among other things. This book was a story written to Asian Americans and feeling the pressure that their parents put on them. I really loved how it played out.

Before I even get to the review, I want to mention this one thing. I honestly loved on how Ever said where she was born, and she could have been born somewhere else. This is entirely so true for me, as I was born in Texas. My mom and grandpa were getting ready to board a cruise ship, but never happened. So yeah, I was born in Texas instead of Colorado where everyone else in my family was born. And seeing that shown in a book was really nice and kinda hit home for me. Why am I so touched by such a meaningless thing mentioned in a very good book? 

I loved how much Hing Wen wrote about dance and the way she describes it was 😍😍😍 , made it so vivid. I wanted to be a dancer when I was little as I thought it’d be cool, but I never done it and honestly, possibly a good thing to. Haha, I can’t dance one bit without being all awkward and tripping over my own feet, but it just looks so cool on screen and it being described in a book.

Like look at this beautiful quote I found in the book, because it is wonderful. It’s almost the same way with me with music because it is simply wonderful.

“And as I lunge and whirl my bo staff, dancing to the ancient drum beats, I fell all the parts of myself coming together: glad that a part of me is Chinese, a part of me American, and all of me is simply me.”

I was totally here for the book. This book is 493 pages (and I honestly don’t read that too much anymore), but I was fine with the length. This book had such a perfect pace to it especially with everything it explored-sex, diaspora, love, and first-generation immigrants. All of these subjects were touched upon and the author took such care with it.

It was really hard to tell that this is the author’s debut novel. It really felt like she made this for a long time, and this book was really good. It was so wonderfully crafted, and it was so hard not to find anything to dislike about it. 

I loved the plot that was going on. A teen sent to Taiwan (which was described beautifully), and exploring things while also disobeying her parents rules. I loved how the author touched upon teens lives and how we could do things while adults turn a blind eye. It was so wonderful, and I loved this book so much. I also love the way Ever discovered herself along the way. 

I also really loved the characters. I really can’t say much, but let’s just say they are really well-developed and the characters are REALLY PRECIOUS. And the romance was also one of the best things especially with the love triangle that was really wonderful.


This book is SERIOUSLY SO DAMN PRECIOUS. I really loved it because it was so beautiful. The way it was written and the way the author described the dancing was extremely beautiful. I loved how the explored stuff. The characters, writing and the plot was all so wonderful about it, and I just love it!

TW: drinking, sex, friendship betrayal (reconciled), depressed and suicidal side character, abusive relationship, abusive parent (off-page), leaked nudes

Rep: Taiwanese MC, Taiwanese+Chinese Side Characters

Recommendable: Extremely

butterfly-border-png-2

GIVEAWAY:

This giveaway is open internationally and sponsored by HarperCollins International. And ends on January 16, 2020.

Rafflecopter giveaway

butterfly-border-png-2

About the Author:

IMG_20191022_013316.jpg

Bio: Abigail Hing Wen is a Silicon Valley venture lawyer working with AI startups. She is a Vermont College of Fine Arts graduate, Wild Things blogger, and YA writer of her debut, Loveboat, Taipei.

Twitter/Facebook/Website

butterfly-border-png-2

Loveboat, Taipei Tour:

I might be going to her Denver stop, but I honestly don’t know so we’ll see. Her book is extremely good so I do recommend attending one of her tour stops.

butterfly-border-png-2

Blog Tour:

TOUR SCHEDULE

December 16
Afire Pages | Letter from Abigail Hing Wen

December 17
Artsy Draft | Lockscreen/Wallpaper
Sometimes Leelynn Reads
Lori’s Bookshelf Reads
Magical Reads | Playlist

December 18
Infinite Golden Floors | “Loveboat,Taipei, in Fiction and Reality”
Lyrical Reads | Moodboards
Kaitlyn Gosiaco
Kitty Marie’s Reading Corner | Moodboard
Fanna Wants the World to Read | Why Fans of Crazy, Rich Asians and La La Land Will Love Loveboat, Taipei

December 19
Caitlin Althea
Utopia State of Mind | Hand Lettering
Shut Up, Shealea
And Once Upon
Bookathon | Loveboat, Taipei Book Tag

December 20
Read By Tiffany
Drizzle & Hurricane Books | Moodboards
Pages and Coffee Cups
Happily, Hedy

Not Just Fiction
Ambivertwords
Flipping Through the Pages | Favorite Mixed-Race Characters

butterfly-border-png-2

Do you want to read this book? Are you excited for it? Is the author coming to town near you? Tell me in the comments!

About the Blogger:

download20190906190121

Hey everyone! I’m Lori and I have been ranting about books for a while, so I decided to make a blog. I’m a teen blogger in high school who has no life so she just reads books, and rants about her problems on her blog and to her cat. I’m a feminist, LGBTQ+ person, and someone who supports anything diverse.

You can find me on: Twitter/Instagram/Goodreads

***Any quotes taken may not match the final copy***

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.